Back to site

©2021. All rights reserved.
Crafted by 4Property.

What is a Further Part 4 Tenancy?

🕓 0 minutes | 31 views

Part IV (part 4) of the Residential Tenancies Act 2004 (The Act) contains the security of tenure measure for tenants based on 6-year cycles whereby tenancies that have lasted more than 6 months become ‘Part 4 tenancies’. Unless there is a breach of the tenancy obligations, they may only be terminated by the landlord during the following 5½ years where one or more of the 6 grounds listed under section 34 of the Act arises. Please click here to access the Residential Tenancies Act 2004.

At the end of the 6-year period, the tenancy is deemed terminated and a new tenancy comes into being where the dwelling continues to be let to the same tenant(s). This new tenancy is known a ‘further Part 4 tenancy’ and may only be terminated during the remainder of the successive six years where one of the grounds listed under section 34 arises, or a breach of obligations occurs.

Each tenancy must be registered with the RTB. When the Part 4 tenancy is deemed to be terminated at the end of the six year cycle and a further Part 4 tenancy comes into being, this tenancy must be registered with the RTB. 

If you are thinking of selling or renting your property, please fill in the form below:

Privacy Policy

Tell us why you are here

…so we can tailor the website to your needs.