Back to site

©2023. All rights reserved.
Crafted by 4Property.

What is a Further Part 4 Tenancy?


🕓 1 minute, 1 second | 766 views

Part 4 tenancy
What is a Further Part 4 Tenancy?

Part IV (part 4) of the Residential Tenancies Act 2004 (The Act) contains the security of tenure measure for tenants based on 6-year cycles whereby tenancies that have lasted more than 6 months become ‘Part 4 tenancies’. Unless there is a breach of the tenancy obligations, they may only be terminated by the landlord during the following 5½ years where one or more of the 6 grounds listed under section 34 of the Act arises. Please click here to access the Residential Tenancies Act 2004.

At the end of the 6-year period, the tenancy is deemed terminated and a new tenancy comes into being where the dwelling continues to be let to the same tenant(s). This new tenancy is known a ‘further Part 4 tenancy’ and may only be terminated during the remainder of the successive six years where one of the grounds listed under section 34 arises, or a breach of obligations occurs.

Each tenancy must be registered with the RTB. When the Part 4 tenancy is deemed to be terminated at the end of the six year cycle and a further Part 4 tenancy comes into being, this tenancy must be registered with the RTB. 

See here for more information on registering your tenancy with the RTB.

Arrange your Free Property Valuation if you are selling

If you’re looking for a free professional house valuation to help you make an informed property decision, our dedicated team of valuation experts have over thirty years’ experience of selling commercial and residential property in Dublin and North Wicklow and their extensive local knowledge can point you in the right direction.

Privacy Policy

Pagespeed Optimization by Lighthouse.

Tell us why you are here

…so we can tailor the website to your needs.